When talking only about the 21st century, we are talking about significantly fewer finals than in the 20th century. However, this doesn’t mean that the finals were any less exciting.

Classic Grand Finals Between 2001 and 2019

  • In 2003 Brisbane celebrated the victory over Collingwood by an amazing 50 points. This was Brisbane’s third premiership victory in a row, making it the first club to achieve this amazing streak since Melbourne’s victories of 1955-1957.
  • Brisbane’s winning streak was stopped in 2004 when Port Adelaide beat them by 40 points and won their first AFL finals.
  • In 2005 Sydney celebrated the end of a record 72 years without a victory. They defeated West Coast in a low scoring game where defence by Leo Barry is still visited as iconic finals moments.
  • In 2007 Geelong celebrated their first finals victory since 1963 when they defeated Port Adelaide with an amazing record of 119 points.
  • 2010 marks the third final draw in AFL history. The final was played between Collingwood and St. Kilda. Next week’s replay was won by Collingwood with 56 points and the breaking of a 20-year long streak of losing.
  • In 2015 Hawthorn became only the second club in the AFL’s modern era to win three finals in a row. This grand final played between Hawthorn and West Coast Eagles was played in the hottest conditions ever recorded for a final.
  • In 2016 Footscray appeared in the first finals since 1961, winning three finals after being on a record seventh position on the home-and-away ladder. Footscray took victory over the Sydney Swans by 22 points, winning for the first time since 1954.
  • The 2018 final game was a tense one, with West Coast winning in the last minute. During the game, Collingwood led by 29 points, but the West Coast made a recovery and won the premiership by 5 points.